Confidence Perceived As Arrogance

Confidence That is an interesting title I think.  I have been working on writing this one post for over a week now.  I have been trying to ensure that I don’t write in anger, haste or to harm.

Last week while working with a colleague who I am still trying to understand our working relationship, I was totally caught off guard by a comment that was made.  The comment was in reference to a rumor that was in the mix about something I had possible stated.  I was very quick to quelsh the rumor and ensure this person that I no way made the statements referred to in said rumor and assured the person of where I stood on their role in an specific area of service. Later that day in a working meeting I mentioned to a couple other staff members the said rumor to assure them that if they heard it to stop it in it’s tracks.  Rumors are a vile communication and can tear teams apart if not dealt with head on.  Well the fun keeps right on rolling at this point.  I was then informed in the that there are more that this first colleague whom I supposedly was spreading rumors about feels that I am arrogant. At this point I was floored.

I have never thought of myself as arrogant and to hear that someone perseves me that way was almost crushing.  I went through lots of emotions from being sad, crushed, hurt, pissed, pity…  I have spent some time away from the situation in prayer and with very close advisers and have resolved this in my heart and I am now to the place where I can write it.

I am a confident person who attempts to walk humbly.  I am not afraid to make mistakes while at the same time fear failure.  For place of responsibility, I have to make well informed but sometime on the spot decisions and I don’t fear this.  If the decision turns out to be the wrong one we correct the issue and learn from the mistake.  I am not one that will sit for hours with a committee to make a decision that I feel confident in making under my areas of responsibility.  In all of this I attempt to do it with humility.  I know there are times in which I have failed and will fail in the future.  So that is who I am.

If you are perceiving someone to be arrogant, close the loop with them personally and directly… you might be dealing with a confident person and if so ensure they are serving humbly and for the right reasons. I am still working to cycle back and close the loop with my colleague, they are an amazing person whom I know I still have some things to learn from.

God Bless,
dl

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Confidence Perceived As Arrogance

  1. Hi Dan,

    I dont know if you remember me but I used to go to Messiah. Since then I have moved to Los Angeles and now I am a full time visual effects artist. I am also expecting my first child in about two months. I was parousing the different sites affiliated with Messiah and happened on this one.

    I dont know what the situation is, but my advice from a scriptural point of view is to not simply write off someone perceiving in you a sinful trait. Proverbs states that those who ignore counsel and rebuke are fools. It is always true that others see in us things that we are often blinded too, usually because we always want to see only the best in ourselves.

    Anyhow, another work of advice regarding green screen work:

    When you key out the background make sure and set the pre blur to about 3 pixels or so, and set the clipping point for the white pretty high. Also, if you have the budget do not use a NLE (non linear editing) app to do it, use a compositor like After Effects or Nuke. Final Cut, Vegas, and Premiere are not made for effects and usually yield horrible results.

    I also have made a little preset for After Effects that may help your keys. I pulls pixels from the scene and adds some reflection on the character to add to the realism.

    Let me know.

    – Evan
    EvanSchaible@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

